New Year’s resolutions weren’t the only things that kicked off on January 1. Beginning on the first and continuing through the rest of 2014, almost 40,000 new laws will go into effect around the country.
Of course, the rules of the road will also see some changes in 2014. To help you keep that resolution of being ticket-free in 2014, here are a few of the new regulations for drivers.
New laws for drivers in 2014
- Illinois is now the thirteenth state to ban the use of handheld phones while driving, unless you’re using a hands-free device.
- Perpetual toll-skippers, beware! If you owe the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority more than $1,000 in tolls, fines, or late fees, they’ll publish your name on their website until you pay up.
- In order to make money on a growing market, Colorado will now charge electric vehicle owners an additional $50 registration fee.
- If you’re driving with a child who is 7 years old or younger in New Hampshire, they’d better be safely situated in a booster seat. (Previously, New Hampshire’s law required child-restraint systems for kids under 6.)
- To promote organ donation, Maine has joined 47 other states in adding a check box for organ donation on drivers license applications.
- Smokers traveling with children in Oregon will have to wait until the end of their trip to have a cigarette. Oregon is the sixth state to enforce a smoke-free car law.
The latest driving laws in your state
While we’ve given you a handful of the newest driving laws across the country, it’s important to stay current on your local legislation. Be sure to check out your local Department of Motor Vehicle’s website to learn more.
And don’t forget, car insurance is required by law in most states, so if you’re riding without it, let us help you out! Get your free car insurance quote in minutes.